Jesse Evans, Editor | Hempstead Herald

HOPE, AR – The 40 2017 senior Bears took to the stage at Hempstead Hall Monday night in front of a horde of family and friends to bring to a close their time together as students at Spring Hill High School.

First year principal Dr. Peter Maggio expressed his pride in the graduates. Maggio said the graduates had demonstrated a closeness he had never seen in his career as an educator.

As a final message to the 2017 class, Maggio said, “Success happens when preparation meets opportunity. This does not happen by chance or without the help of other. Spring Hill High School has given you the foundation by which to accomplish anything you desire in your lives. However, you have the responsibility to use the knowledge you’ve been given to develop a vision of what you want out of life and to pursue that vision with unrelenting zeal.”

Maggio exhorted the student to never miss an opportunity going forward to make a difference in the life of others.

While recognizing the graduates for the honors and scholarships they had earned, College and Career Counselor Heidi Marshall announced the 40 graduates had earned at total of 1.8 million dollars in scholarships toward continuing their education.

Salutatorian Aaron Townsend and Co-Valedictorians Allysa Dougan and Brady Gentry each took turns at the podium to address their loved ones, community and classmates. Each looked back fondly on their time together as students at Spring Hill, expressed their thanks to family and faculty for the part they played in their time as students and looked forward to the next step in their lives.

After the traditional presentation of the roses ceremony, the graduates were called one-by-one to receive their diploma. The Class of 2017 finally stood together one last time as they were officially declared graduates of Spring Hill High School and cast they caps into the air in celebration of their accomplishments.

Distinguished Graduates:
Alyssa Kay Dougan:  Co-Valedictorian/Graduate with Highest Honors
Brady Anderson Gentry: Co-Valedictorian/Graduate with Highest Honors
Aaron Ross Townsend: Salutatorian/Graduate with Highest Honors

Graduates with Highest Honors:
Mary Caitlyn Light
Stephen Lynn Yates
Caitlin Brooke Fincher
Christi Ann Chambless
Mykayla Christian Withers

Graduates with Honors:
Taylor Bryce Turner
Taylor Madison Teague
Samantha Gail Bobo
Lillian Elizabeth Kidd
Molly Love Middleton
Brittany Denise Smith
Kelsey Menea Gammage

Class of 2017
Dawson Wayne Akin                                           Richard Liu
Tanner Baumeister                                              Molly Love Middleton
Hannah Nicole Black                                          Kalyne Marie Powell
Samantha Gail Bobo                                           William Kyle Reardon
Austin Troy Joseph Bradford                                 Daden Haze Reed
Hannah Rae Brown                                            Caleb Nicholas Rogers
Hannah Lane Butler                                           Brittany Denise Smith
Christi Ann Chambless                                      Damon Stewart Sooter
Colby Caul Clendenen                                       Taylor Madison Teague
Brooke Ann Collins                                             Aaron Ross Townsend
Chandler Tate Comer                                         Noah Anthony Turner
Garrett Caid Davis                                               Taylor Bryce Turner
Alyssa Kay Dougan                                             Benjamin Blake Waller
Caitlin Brooke Fincher                                      William Wallace Walton
Kelsey Menea Gammage                                  Dustyn Edward Watson
Brady Anderson Gentry                                    Dylan Michael Watson
Greyson Sewell Glass                                         Joshua Lewis Windield
Sarah Danielle Hurt                                           Joshua Lewis Winfield
Lillian Elizabeth Kidd                                       Mykayla Christian Withers
Mary Caitlyn Light                                             Stephen Lynn Yates

Facebook Comments